+ Reply to Thread

Lies My Congressman Told Me

Lies My Congressman Told Me
    (special by airforceguy)

To get this out of the way early, you will not see any classified information in this post. Everything I will write about has been extensively documented in many other sources. Everything I say has been said by other professionals, both civilian and military. The importance of what I say actually lies not in the content, but in the speaker and the medium. Last thing first, the blogosphere is a new phenomenon, and a new medium which allows common guys like me as wide a broadcasting net as the mainstream media (MSM). If you did not know this already you would not be reading this entry. The real reason you are reading this has to do with the fact that I am not a reporter, sending news filtered through desks and editors. I am a simple soldier, writing what I saw, what I deduced and what I know to be true.....

..So here is the truth. My Congressman told me there were no WMD in Iraq. But he was wrong, because it was and is still there. And we found some.

The laws of irony are strictly enforced. The first WMD we found was actually used against us. A roadside bomb filled with binary Sarin exploded near a convoy carrying ISG personnel. Sarin is a non-persistent nerve agent. As such, it can not be safely and effectively stored. Instead, it must be used quickly after it is made. Therefore shells or warheads do not actually contain sarin. Instead they contain two chemicals (binary) which form sarin when they are mixed. The shell is fired, the chemicals mix on the way to the target, the shell explodes, viola, you have a chemical weapon. But since this shell was in a roadside bomb, it didn’t mix correctly, and the troops who were exposed weren’t killed. In fact, for reasons I will enumerate later, the terrorists who set up that IED most likely had no idea what was contained in their stolen munition.