+ Reply to Thread

Embassies corruption to obtain visa?

Hi, I am going to plan a trip to invite my Ukrainian gf to Europe. She went to local agencies, who told her that they could have a strong influence on obtaining the tourist visa, with money kickbacks and bribes to the embassy.
    BS or not? I know Ukraine is madly full of corruption, but can it goes until the embassies?

Re: Embassies corruption to obtain visa?

Quote Originally Posted by JDzen View Post
    Hi, I am going to plan a trip to invite my Ukrainian gf to Europe. She went to local agencies, who told her that they could have a strong influence on obtaining the tourist visa, with money kickbacks and bribes to the embassy.
    BS or not? I know Ukraine is madly full of corruption, but can it goes until the embassies?
    I am no expert for INS in this country nor for any other country, but I have heard from past news reports that embassies can be corrupt and be bribed.

You are correct that there's corruption in Ukraine but visas are issued by foreign Embassies

I do not think that officer of foreign Embassy will take a risk to earn extra hundred bucks and ready to spend few years in prison to earn few hundred dollars. Therefore I do not think that it's truth.

I think the lier is not travel agency but your friend because travel agency does not take money for visa. They take money for visa support and do not guarantee positive results because they are not available to influent on officers of Embassy.
    Private Detective Odessa Ukraine.
    Background Checks, surveillance, scam investigations. www.investigator-ukraine.com

I am deepy concerned that you might be involved in another type of fraud or scam here. Your girlfriend, have you met her in person before or talked by phone? OR have you only cooresponded via email, maybe chat?

Have you googled her email address or emails? Have you checked other scam warning sites? Have you checked her photos against photo-verification sites?