+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Rinse that spaghetti!

Ok, I am here to chat because I learned something new today and I want this little obsticle taken care of and it on the record!

I have been making spaghetti now for the last 15 yrs of my life. I have NEVER been able to go to the fridge and have some spaghetti leftovers without the damn stuff sticking together.

My husband, on the other hand, made his first batch of spaghetti last week.

I go into the fridge, take out his spaghetti this morning to partake in some leftovers and what do you think happened?
    THE DARN STUFF DIDN'T STICK TOGETHER!

So I ask him, "Honey, how did u cook your spaghetti?", he said, "with some oil in the pot.", I said, "Did u rinse it?", he said, "Yeah, in hot water.". I was absolutely stunned....."hot water???...my mom always told me, never rinse in hot, rinse in cold."

Lesson: Always rinse in HOT WATER not COLD WATER!!!

Have a nice day

Re: Rinse that spaghetti!

That's odd. I always rinse in cold water and my spaghetti doesn't stick together? I do use oil when I cook it though too.. does that make a difference do you think?

I have always rinsed my spaghetti in cold water. It's what my mom told me to do.
    The only thing different my husband did than me, is he rinsed in hot. It didn't stick AT ALL!
    I myself was shocked....

I don't rinse my spaghetti - where were you guys raised? We put a little salt in the water while it's boiling and after it is drained, we put just enough of the sauce in the spaghetti and mix it together so that it barely coats the noodles (lubricates it so it doesn't stick). Then serve it with sauce on top. Unless you're in a restaurant and need the oil to keep it from sticking (cooking noodles ahead of time and just heating them as needed), putting oil on the noodles can really mess them up (causes the sauce to slide off) and if you've spent all day cooking a sauce you don't want that to happen.