+ Reply to Thread

Some quick advice

I work in law enforcement and see tons of scams all the time. The easiest way to avoid being scammed is to follow some simple rules:

1) if you are told you won a contest prize/lottery, and YOU DID NOT ENTER, it is a scam. Do not give out any info...

2) No legitimate company/business is going to ask for personal/credit card info unless YOU INITIATED THE CALL....i.e. don't give out info to someone that calls you...

3) If it sounds too good to be true, it is, or if someone is offering you something for nothing, it is 99% a scam. There really is no such thing as a free lunch or easy money....sorry. It's a scam.

Basically, if people stopped trying to get a bunch of money for no effort, and stopped giving out their bank account/personal info for greed, these scammers could not operate. But, human nature being what it is.....Oh well.

Be careful and keep your info to yourself....Good luck..

Re: Some quick advice

Today on TV there was an ad for lotto scams and how to avoid them and the guy said something that should dawn on everyone who gets contacted about winning the lotto: If you didn't buy a ticket you CAN'T win.
    You would think that would be a big DUH! but it's not.
    Patricia Lynne's Treasures
    Why should you look there? Because it's not a get rich scam.
    It's my store! I got it up (almost gotta add a few items and spell check LOL) I got domain hosting and email accounts. I sent out my application for sales tax. I'm so excited. Also check out my blog at myspace page

Thank you irishblue - some very good, logical advice.

May I add two more?

Just because someone says they are a Christian, don't trust them based on that - still do your due diligence and don't give them any money until you check them out.

'Many come in My Name, but they are not of Me'.

I thought I was fairly savvy, but was caught off guard by someone who 'talked the talk', but didn't 'walk the walk'.

We call them the 'Let Us Prey' bunch.