+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

When can we vomit out conservatism?

I was listening to Rush Limbaugh talk about companies making so much money... just so much, in the face of a world that has 30 000 children starving to death... just listening to him argue against a Democrat wanting to raise the minimum wage, just enough to match inflation rates, and it's like a knife in my heart.

I'm so sick of actually try to argue this logically with a bunch of heartless scumbags. These are scumbags.

I've worked in minimum wage places before - while I was a student and after. I work as a designer now, but I know how hard it was to work and keep up with the tuition rate. I remember the single mother I met. I remember the old and tired who couldn't get ahead in life because they could barely meet living costs.

These people who argue for minimum wage to be kept down need to be forced by law to work for minimum wage. These people who think the wages American corporations pay in sweatshops are fair, these people NEED to be deported to work in these sweatshops.

These people shouldn't be argued with. You shouldn't have to convince them that it's wrong to exploit people.

The Lebanese economy plummets because of this invasion, and there's not a word of compensation. Conservatives almost completely ignorant of the company say: "They harbored Hezbolah. They deserve it!" Meanwhile 40% of the population there is Christian. Meanwhile the north half of the country SUPPORTS Israel.

Conservatism is asking the question: "Even if it causes the many pain, how can I make the strongest even more powerful?" Take the Terry Schiavo case. The conservatives wanted to keep her alive, despite her being a vegetable for 20 years. They wanted to prolong her pain for their ideals.