+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010

    Is this a scam site?

    http://www.nowbuygadgets.cc.cc/ ???

    they post a lot of cheap items, then i want to buy from them by sending my money thru the western union then I email them with the every information attached. they promise me the item will be arrived in 2 days, but then after a day, i received the email telling me this :

    Presently there was a delay on the shipment of packages to Asian countries. This has affect many of our customers this few days of the New Year, and Ups courier had claimed the reason to increase the handling and shipment fee to All Asian countries.(TAX, HANDLING AND DELIVERY FEE)

    Our Company Manager had called all sales staff to board meeting to notify us that, all buyers from ASIAN Must be on MOQ (minimum order) which must be 5units or more.

    Courier companies do charge very much Up to 180GBP on each goods this New Year to ASIA COUNTRIES.Therefore to make deals very easy for our recent customers. Our company had offer buy 4 get 1 free. This means if you could buy 3 more we would ship 5units to your doorstep.

    Only 3buyers from Malaysia had done this to make goods transaction. Please we do hope you understand and at the same time we want to offer you best transaction by offering you 1 free HTC HD2.If only you could buy 3 more.

    Charges are very much, we are only doing this so that our customers from Asian will not have any problem of handling and delivery of goods to thier doorstep . Tax, handling and delivery fee said by UPS are now high in prices (Asian). And we are very happy to deal with you as we propose to you, BUY 4UNITS GET 1 FREE. For more transaction please do understand that we will be selling 5units minimum.

    but try to think, i already paid the item and my payment including the Shipment fee...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Planet Gong

    Re: Is this a scam site?

    Sorry. keeper, but your money is gone.
    The tipoffs:
    . Absurdly low prices
    . Contact by free e-mail (hotmail and yahoo)
    . Payment by wire transfer

    Site lists a street address in UK, but site is hosted in S.Korea.

    WHOIS for
    inetnum: -
    netname: HANANET
    descr: Hanaro Telecom
    descr: Shindongah Bldg, 43, Taepyeongno2ga, Junggu, Seoul
    descr: ************************************************** ************
    descr: Allocated to KRNIC Member.
    descr: If you would like to find assignment
    descr: information in detail please refer to
    descr: the KRNIC Whois Database at:
    descr: http://whois.nic.or.kr/english/index.htm
    descr: ************************************************** ************
    country: KR
    admin-c: HL196-AP
    tech-c: JK250-AP
    remarks: http://www.hanaro.com
    mnt-by: MNT-KRNIC-AP
    mnt-lower: MNT-KRNIC-AP
    changed: **********@apnic.net 20080618
    source: APNIC

    person: Han Lee
    nic-hdl: HL196-AP
    e-mail: ******@hanaro.com
    address: 726-1, Janghang2-dong, Goyang-si, Ilsan-gu, Seoul
    phone: +82-2-106
    fax-no: +82-2-6266-6483
    country: KR
    changed: **********@nic.or.kr 20040326
    mnt-by: MNT-KRNIC-AP
    source: APNIC

    person: Jinyoung Kim
    nic-hdl: JK250-AP
    e-mail: ******@hanaro.com
    address: 726-1, Janghang2-dong, Goyang-si, Ilsan-gu, Seoul
    phone: +82-2-106
    fax-no: +82-2-6266-6483
    country: KR
    changed: **********@nic.or.kr 20040326
    mnt-by: MNT-KRNIC-AP
    source: APNIC
    See this discussion on sulit.com.ph

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006

    Re: Is this a scam site?

    as a warning to others, this is all fake, you will get nothing for your money.

    C o n t a c t

    Ct 107 Oxford Rd, Court, OXFORD
    United Kingdom
    OX4 2ER

    How to Contact us
    Telephone : +447035972788
    Fax Number :

    Email : [email protected]
    Instant messenger : nowbuygadgets (Yahoo!)

    Name : NowBuy Gadgets Electronics

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008

    Re: Is this a scam site?

    They cant even get their UK address right.There is no such place as Court,the postcode actually refers to Cowley in fact.
    Also Companies House UK where ALL British limited companies have to be registered shows no trace of Phones & Accessories Limited,which this 'company' claim is their name under the heading company profile on their website.
    Obviously a scam.Avoid please,and hang on to your money!
    The Raymond st Clair/Gary Martin Beaver Saga.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009

    Re: Is this a scam site?

    What everyone else said, plus the +44-70 phone number is a UK redirect number which means is is a cell phone that is forwarded to anyone anywhere in the world.

    Your money is gone forever, sorry. Real companies do not use Western Union, scammers do.

    Delete the emails and move on, responding will just get you responses from the scammer trying to convince you to send more money again and again.

    When next you decide to purchase something off the internet, never ever use Western Union or moneygram. Stick to company sites and when just the tiniest bit unsure, post here and ask tons of questions.
    Found a scam or scammer's email address? Post it at scamwarners.com
    Found a romance scam? Post it at romancescam.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010

    Re: Is this a scam site?

    ok... tnx a lot.... guys...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2010

    Re: Is this a scam site?

    Is this a scam?

    The company name is "Electronics and Gadgets Direct Limited"

    the site barely has any products posted online.

    then this link below, is of the same company name:
    it was the first thing i found...it has unbelievably low prices and the contact was with a yahoo email address....how can i know if this is legit or not?


Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-09-2018, 01:41 AM
  2. Replies: 124
    Last Post: 08-08-2014, 03:17 PM
  3. Major Slander Blog/Site - About Credible Site.
    By KevinM in forum Internet Scams
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-12-2009, 11:33 AM
  4. Great Site to money making site
    By MattAK003 in forum Mail Order Scams
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-20-2007, 09:23 PM
  5. I-Deal site 24" Dell Widescreen LCD DIY site...!
    By supersponger1979 in forum Mail Order Scams
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 08-26-2006, 12:29 AM

Tags for this Thread



Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may edit your posts