+ Reply to Thread

Thread: clickbank??

clickbank??

I am just a little concerned about some of the products they have in their network, I try to promote only products I believe are not scams but I am starting to have this fear that if anything happens to them (like a crackdown by the ftc) everyone who uses them could be on the hook.

so do you think all affiliates and publishers would be on the hook if anything were to happen to clickbank? has they been any crackdown on a company like clickbank which affected affiliates as well?

Re: clickbank??

I think a lot of Clickbank products are overpriced, over hyped and poor quality rather than scams. Clickbank is quite good at honouring refund requests so you can get your money back. In fact the refund rate on one of their products is 90% which speaks volumes about the quality (or complete lack thereof!) and another popular product has a refund rate of 50%. (You can find out refund rates by subscribing to cbengine.com)

I am no lawyer, but affiliates promoting clickbank products probably have a duty of due diligence and should also not make innacurate claims about any product. If you want to promote a clickbank product via their affiliate program you could always ask the merchant for a (free) review copy or failing that you could buy it yourself.

This blog is quite good regarding the legal issues surrounding online marketing: http://mikeyounglaw.com/wp/2009/02/0...-with-the-ftc/

There are so many affiliate programs besides Clickbank that offer great products and services. Have you tried any of the others?

I also don't like the way some merchants encourage their affiliates to tell blatant lies. For example:

This merchant gives you some emails to copy, paste and send out: the first one says "As I write this email there are 27 places left, " but hang on a minute the second one says "There are only 24 places left to become a subscriber as I write this."
    http://doublingstocks.com/affiliates.php