+ Reply to Thread

Universal Accounting & Bookkeeping Services

Hello guys!
    Does anybody have some helpful information on Universal Accounting? This is a company that trains people on how to start a bookkeeping business. Here's their website:
    http://www.universalaccounting.com/

Both positive and negative postings are welcomed. I have been considering signing up for this training program which also includes tax preparation training, but wanted to make sure this is a scam-free concept, a legitimate business entity and a realistic endeavor for an aspiring small business owner, one who has just lost it all to real estates school of hard knocks; though now employed, but cant stop thinking of going back into self-employment. My background is in accounting, and I feel comfortable starting back out in this area.

Again, 'any infor' will be greatly appreciated. Thanks alot!

Re: Universal Accounting & Bookkeeping Services

They are very expensive course that will not teach you more than you will be able to teach yourself. And I doubt their certificate is worth anything.

Check Amazon
    http://www.amazon.com/s?ie=UTF8&tag=...Mozilla-search

They have plenty of reliable books. Difference is that you will have to read them instead of watching DVDs. And they are cheep. For $200 you will be able to get 10 different books and plenty of tests to go through.

tax prep places will train you free, last i heard.

Also local community colleges might have bookkeeping classes and certificates, which might help you more getting a job.

Oh, I bet UABS training is expensive.

Okay, but my point is, I need a bookkeeping training that can equip me to run a service outlet for mom & pop stores and entrepreneurs, not just books to read, but a bookkeeping hands-on training, as stated above, to start servicing small businesses, including tax preparation services.