+ Reply to Thread

used car veteran offers advice

undefined[COLOR=Wheat]undefined[/COLOR

Hi everybody! Just joined today and thought I'd post my offer to anyone having problems after purchasing a used car. I am currently a used car manager and have been doing this for 25 years. I've read some of the problems folks have had, and can offer sound advice on what to do if you are having a problem with a car you've purchased, primarily from a dealer. I can give you advice on buying a used car, what to look for, how to inspect the car, and basically how to get a fair price without spending all day doing it!
    Let me know how I can help!

Re: used car veteran offers advice

Please.

I'm driving over to Germany to check out a US import used car. I would really appreciate some advice on what to check and how. The car is offered by a dealer (which I checked out), apparently it's a company which brings used cars from the west into Russia and Eastern Europe.

Because of that - I ran a check of the company and the individuals to a detailed level (up to tracing pictures of the street they are located on, finding out other similar companies on the same street, and matching phone numbers to address and to employees names.....)

Not to even mentioned that they never offered to ship the car, we made an appointment that I would come to Germany to meet them and test-drive the car - only then will I make a decision on purchase.

Now - unfortunately I'm not a car mechanic, what on earth am I to check under the hood ? and paper-wise ?

Also - what is the common procedure if I decide to buy the car ? I don't want to carry loads of cash on me when I'm traveling by yself into a foreign country at 550 km. Can I do it by a cassier's check ? or how else ? and when do I give them the check ? after they hand over the title with my name on it ?????

Please let me know - I'm appreciate it :)