report scams here at scam.com dont get scammed Scams and Scammers - Expose hypocrisy and spread respect ! Don't get ripped off! REGISTER
Go Back   scams > Scam Message Board > Internet Scams
Register FAQ Register To Post Member List Promote Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-14-2009, 09:36 AM
I am new at Scam.com

HarryM.com? Weird job offer...

Hello Scam.com, I have a problem.

I consider myself pretty scam-savvy, and this email I recieved feels fake, and yet nothing I can find can pinpoint it as being fake. Nothing can pinpoint it as real, either. If it's real, it would be a great benefit to me, but I can't be sure.

You see, I'm looking for work right now, pretty much fresh out of college. I've got my resume posted to a couple of job offer sites, and I occasionally get job offers that lead to interviews that lead to me not having enough experience to be hired.

This latest job offer just seems... weird though. It's an overseas (Finland) company (HarryM Ltd.) who wants to hire me, in America, as a Purchasing Agent, for a reasonable salary. Sounds great! Except I don't have any experience in such things... heck, I'm an English Major (hence my difficulty finding work).

The overseas part makes me nervous, although they do seem to have American offices. The first email I got was barely coherant english, although subsequent emails seem okay.

Other than the website they gave me via email, I can't find them online. I can't find them via google, I can't find the name of the person who has been contacting me, I can't find any companies that claim to use them.

I could be overly paranoid. Yet I don't just want to take their word for who they are. Surely if they're legit, SOMEONE on the internet has heard of them. Yet I find nothing...

So I come to you. The person is going to be phoning me tomorrow morning with more information, but I'm hoping you on the internet can help me first.

Old 01-14-2009, 01:44 PM
Platinum Member

Re: HarryM.com? Weird job offer...