report scams here at scam.com dont get scammed Scams and Scammers - Expose hypocrisy and spread respect ! Don't get ripped off! REGISTER
Go Back   scams > Scam Message Board > Used Car Scams
Register FAQ Register To Post Member List Promote Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-22-2005, 04:03 AM
I am new at Scam.com

Government Auctions: The Truth

From the desk of Scott Welch......

Government Auction Bargains?

.....Hundreds of "government auction" websites have appeared in the past year, claiming to offer direct access to directories and databases of when & where each government auction in the U.S. takes place - even those that are not advertised. Unfortunately, most of these websites only have one intent - making you pay to become a member of their website just so they can supposedly tell you where to go on the internet to find current and upcoming auctions in your area. But all they actually do is provide you with a list of useless links to websites that no longer exist, or other companies that want you to pay more money to join their website as well!

Most of these websites will charge you a $30-$40 fee for access to their directory of government auction sources. But in reality, 99% of these websites offer you nothing more than the following:

Outdated or non-working links, phone numbers, & email addresses.

No customer service or help in locating auctions.

No refunds if you are unsatisfied - Most of these fly-by-night websites won't even respond to your refund requests, and once their website gets shut down due to complaints, they start another one under a different name.

Poorly designed sites with confusing navigation systems and information, and non-working pages.