report scams here at scam.com dont get scammed Scams and Scammers - Expose hypocrisy and spread respect ! Don't get ripped off! REGISTER
Go Back   scams > Scam Message Board > Internet Scams
Register FAQ Register To Post Member List Promote Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-28-2008, 09:20 AM
I am new at Scam.com

Craigslist Laptop repair scam ?

This happened to my brother a few weeks ago and i cannot figure out the scam but im sure there is one .

he is a computer tech and posted an ad on okla city craigslist offering repair / upgrade services.

He was contacted by a rose smith out of las vegas who told him she had many laptops she wanted him to install anti virus on .

They agreed on a price of $50 per , and she was going to use her shipper to send them and return them .

At this point he called me, cause he thought it sounded fishy .. i researched her name and email addie and found it posted on many dating sites, she had told him she was a 28 yr old mother of 2 , and none of it matched what i found .
so he finally passed on the deal after much warning from me that it had to be a scam .

Now im just curious how the scam would have played out , advance fee scam maybe ?

The emails had the typical nigerian grammar mistakes , her location didnt match the other info i found , and uit just made no sense to spend that kind of money to install anti virus when it could have been done locally to where she was .

Old 03-28-2008, 03:30 PM
Nothing is as it seems

Re: Craigslist Laptop repair scam ?

She would have probably sent him a bogus check to cover payment in advance and shipping but the check would have been for too much so she would ask to send the difference back via Western Union. He would end up losing everything.

Old 03-29-2008, 12:29 AM
Most Valued Gold Member

yes, the extra in the fake check would have been forwarded to the "shipper" via western union. local guy told me he just got scammed on his boat for sale the same way.