report scams here at scam.com dont get scammed Scams and Scammers - Expose hypocrisy and spread respect ! Don't get ripped off! REGISTER
Go Back   scams > Scam Message Board > Business Scams
Register FAQ Register To Post Member List Promote Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-14-2007, 08:35 AM
I am new at Scam.com

Global Exchange Vacation. Is deal a scam?

This is my first post.

Does anyone know anything about Global Exchange Vacation (GEV)? [www.globalexchangevacation.com]

A representative called me on the phone today.

Briefly, here's the deal I was offered: I attend a 90-minute presentation. They will ask if I want to join their "club" afterwards. I can say no if I want to. Or I can join up.

Either way, I wll receive a "vacation package." I told them that I want an RT ticket to New York and back. They said fine. And I can book them for anytime within one year. Can fly on weekends and vacation days, too

The claim is that for my time, gasoline, and energy, I get the tix, no matter what. They claim this is how they use their advertising money--by providing free tix--rather than on TV, in magazines, etc.

Of course, I was thoroughy suspicious. I talked to three reps and two supervisors. I asked questions over and over and got the same answers. Yes, they said, this is a legit offer. Yes, all you have to do is attend this presentation (the 90-minute thing). Yes, you will get RT tix to NY at no charge. No, you don't have to sign up for a hotel package that you have to pay for; in fact, you don't have to sign up for anything at all. Yes, you could fly to NY and then change planes to Toronto (which is where I want to go, tho' I'd have to pay for the NY-TO leg). No, it isn't a two-for-one deal: You don't have to buy a second ticket to get the first one free.