report scams here at scam.com dont get scammed Scams and Scammers - Expose hypocrisy and spread respect ! Don't get ripped off! REGISTER  

Go Back   scams > Scam Message Board > Internet Scams
Register FAQ Register To Post Member List Promote Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-21-2007, 04:27 AM
I am new at Scam.com

Paypal Letter Question

OK,
I am sure all of you have seen the old paypal letter that claims you can "earn" thousands of dollars and asks you to "donate" 5 or 6 or 10 dollars. I know that there are problems and loopholes in how it works (or should I say, doesn't work).
Here is my question:
Has anyone found any definitive proof that this program is illegal. If so please let me know where to find this information. I have been looking for a few days in search engines but can't find anything... I would like the arsenal to be able to talk to some friends of mine who are considering doing this absurd program.
Anyway, I don't mean to open a can of worms, I just want to know for sure if it is illegal or just stupid. :)
Thanks for the help in advance!

Old 05-21-2007, 05:00 AM
Bronze Member

Re: Paypal Letter Question

Illegal and stupid.

"VERY" on both.

What else would you like to know? :)

Old 05-21-2007, 05:21 AM
Lady Moderator- Just call me Your Majesty

Quote:
Originally Posted by goldenboy07
Here is my question:
Has anyone found any definitive proof that this program is illegal. If so please let me know where to find this information. I have been looking for a few days in search engines but can't find anything... I would like the arsenal to be able to talk to some friends of mine who are considering doing this absurd program.
Anyway, I don't mean to open a can of worms, I just want to know for sure if it is illegal or just stupid. :)
Thanks for the help in advance!
http://www.usps.com/postalinspectors/fraud/chainlet.htm

Chain Letters