report scams here at scam.com dont get scammed Scams and Scammers - Expose hypocrisy and spread respect ! Don't get ripped off! REGISTER  

Go Back   scams > Scam Message Board > MLM Scams
Register FAQ Register To Post Member List Promote Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-19-2007, 12:02 PM
I am new at Scam.com

Southwestern Company a scam?

The Southwestern Company is a company (formed 1855, program started 1868) that has college students doing door-to-door sales of educational books over the summer for an average of 78 hours a week, knocking on about 35 families' doors a week. The pay depends on sales - 40% for each sale, and participants take a trip to Nashville for training school before they go to their respective locations. Training school is free for participants, though there is a $1000 penalty "in the event of default by Dealer after the closing of a selling season." Prior sales experience is not required. I heard of this through a flyer asking us to fill out information in my college management class (no professor was present at that time). The people I met that were associated with the company were all past participants that felt they had a memorable experience.