report scams here at scam.com dont get scammed Scams and Scammers - Expose hypocrisy and spread respect ! Don't get ripped off! REGISTER
Go Back   scams > Scam Message Board > Business Scams
Register FAQ Register To Post Member List Promote Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-01-2007, 04:23 PM
I am new at Scam.com

Tate & Kirlin Associates?

Hello all,

Has anyone dealt with these people? I got a call from a woman from there who said it was in regards to my JC Penney's debt....which I do have...I set up a payment plan with her to pay $53 each pay and let them take the first one out. I did tell her that I only authorized that one payment and that if they wanted any others they would have to call me first. I went on the internet to look up this lady's number cause I lost it and all these links came up saying that they are a scam and that they aren't a real collection agency (or something like that), then I checked the BBB and they are a member in pretty good standing...so I'm not sure what to think?!?! I want to pay this debt off, but only if I'm seriously paying Penney's and not some jerk who's pocketing the $$....anyone have any insight?

Tx!

Kittyluv :)

Old 03-01-2007, 08:04 PM
Diamond Member

Re: Tate & Kirlin Associates?

Collection agency seems to be real, but like in many other collection agencies their collectors are rude and obnoxious in their behavior.

About payment plan. I hope you did not give them authorization to withdraw directly from your checking account. They may withdraw the whole debt in one swoop. Let them send monthly bills to you and pay them with Money Orders.

Old 03-02-2007, 04:09 PM
I am new at Scam.com

Unfortunately I did! But, they have only taken two so far and I'm going to be closing it out. I'm going to call Penney's to see if they authorized that Co. to collect on it and if they did, I'm going to call that lady back and ask her for an addy to send payments to. I'm so glad it didn't turn out worse than it did....