report scams here at scam.com dont get scammed Scams and Scammers - Expose hypocrisy and spread respect ! Don't get ripped off! REGISTER
Go Back   scams > Scam Message Board > Insurance Scams
Register FAQ Register To Post Member List Promote Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-19-2007, 08:08 PM
I am new at Scam.com

Aflac a scam?

Hi all. I just had an interview with someone claiming to be from Aflac. Anyway, I guess I'm just looking for people who have worked for Aflac before and know that this is indeed the way they do their business.

I had an interview for becoming, basically, my own sales agent. I'd be an independent contractor renting out a desk space within their office facility. Now, I already know what kind of work insurance sales would entail, but what I found odd was that not only would they not pay for training to get my insurance license, but they would be charging me money to attend their own Aflac sales classes as well. Furthermore, if I understood my interviewer correctly, they wanted me to make the check out to them for the insurace licensing school, which I really found odd.

Anyway, I guess I just want to know, is this the way most Aflac sales offices run, or does this seem like a scam that's exploiting Aflac? It would seem to me that if Aflac needed more agents, that they would help them financially set up, not charge then with all these upfront costs.

Regards,

Will

Old 02-01-2007, 06:43 PM
I am new at Scam.com

Re: Aflac a scam?

Will,

I am currently in the process of licensing for Life/Health insurance for Aflac in Illinois. I do have to pay for my licensing, although my office doesn't have me paying for my training. Also my licesning is independant from Aflac, they referred me to a company that does study guides. But my overall costs to become a salesperson for Aflac will be around $380. That includes the study guides, the fee to take the test (state ran) and the fee for the actual license (again from the state).