report scams here at scam.com dont get scammed Scams and Scammers - Expose hypocrisy and spread respect ! Don't get ripped off! REGISTER
Go Back   scams > Scam Message Board > Mail Order Scams
Register FAQ Register To Post Member List Promote Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-04-2007, 10:26 PM
I am new at Scam.com

Mailing List...Scam or not?

:confused: Hi, this is my first time to be on this forum. I have a question about this letter that I received in the mail today. Basically it is a mailing list ordering system. I send $1 to six people on this letter. Then I add my name to number 6 and then copy the two page letter 200 times. Then I order a list of 200 names from a company and then send these letters to the people on the list. It says that I will receive over 800,000 dollars in as little as 90 days.

This sounds really good, but before I invest in around 169 dollars (which is the $6 I initially send, cost of copies, postage, envelopes, etc.) I want to make sure that this is legitimate. I have received the same letter several different times from different people so I was just wondering if anyone has done it and if it really works.

Tha money would come in real handy especially this time of year.

Thanks for reading.

Old 01-04-2007, 11:18 PM
Diamond Member

Re: Mailing List...Scam or not?

For someone really new to this, this letter called chain letter. It is illigal and you may get in trouble for doing it.

Old 01-05-2007, 04:01 AM
Bronze Member

I tried that exact letter system a few years ago. I received 25-$1 bills in the mail. Several people who got the letter called me to see how I did (near top of list). I got 1 REALLY nasty letter from 1 guy who received 1 of my copies. I didn't hear from any "authorities".

Old 01-05-2007, 08:00 AM
Silver Member

Let me guess: you lost money.

This type of program is illegal and don't work. It only works for the originator.

Old 01-05-2007, 11:08 PM
I am new at Scam.com