report scams here at scam.com dont get scammed Scams and Scammers - Expose hypocrisy and spread respect ! Don't get ripped off! REGISTER
Go Back   scams > Scam Message Board > Charity Scams
Register FAQ Register To Post Member List Promote Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-16-2006, 03:57 AM
Newbie Member

Do your homework before donating

Which charity is the real thing and which one is fake?
http://www.aspca.org
or

http://www.spca.com/

Old 12-18-2006, 07:51 PM
I am new at Scam.com

Re: Do your homework before donating

The ASPCA is a legit organization.
http://www.give.org/reports/report.a...3&ReportType=1

The SPCA is not even listed with bbb.org.

Last edited by Lena : 12-18-2006 at 07:55 PM.

Old 12-18-2006, 09:34 PM
Newbie Member

My first warning sign was that it was a .com, rather than .org

It makes me wonder how many people out there don't pay attention, and think they are giving money to a real charity.

Last edited by Administrator : 04-15-2012 at 03:24 PM.

Old 12-25-2006, 08:33 PM

This is another sad case of thougthless accusation. The SPCA web-site referenced above does not directly solicit contributions. They instead direct you to contribute to you local society for the prevention of cruelty to animals. They are, in other words, telling you to go down and give to your local animal shelter. There is nothing fraudulent about that.

Old 03-10-2007, 08:10 AM
Newbie Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by ttupper
This is another sad case of thougthless accusation.
Uh no, the accusation is right on. There is a SPCA, but there is no SPCA International. I looked it up. Their tax ID listed on their website does not match any type of SPCA organization ( check Guide Star ). And the website does have a direct link to donate to them. The website also has advertisement links on it.
Like I said, do your homework.

Old 12-20-2007, 02:15 PM
Newbie Member