report scams here at scam.com dont get scammed Scams and Scammers - Expose hypocrisy and spread respect ! Don't get ripped off! REGISTER  

Go Back   scams > Scam Message Board > Work at Home Scams
Register FAQ Register To Post Member List Promote Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-18-2006, 10:31 PM
I am new at Scam.com

VOT-Virtual Office Temps...scam or no?

So, I found this link (http://www.virtualassistantjobs.com/) on a different website I go to that has nothing to do with work at home or scams. I have looked at it very closely for red flags and can't seem to find much. For example, as long as you have certain programs on your computer...there doesn't seem to be any fee (a fact they advertise!) and they even go so far as to point out a scam run by a similar company. To become a certified assistant, whatever that is, seems pricey.

The only real red flag that my novice scam-spotting eyes can see is that the scam they claim not be be affiliated with (Westwood Virtual Staffing) seems to be one that everybody else thinks that they are affiliated with.

So, anybody have any thoughts on this one?

Thanks so much in advance.

Old 11-19-2006, 08:59 PM
I am new at Scam.com

Re: VOT-Virtual Office Temps...scam or no?

Sorry, self kick...anybody have any thoughts or advice?

Old 11-29-2006, 09:20 PM
I am new at Scam.com

I think Virtual Office Temps is making money by affiliating with CallWave and Efax. I've read on other forums that people signed up with the company - which is free, a good sign - but never gat any jobs through them. However, when you sign up, they ask you to install the free trials from CallWave and Efax - both good programs that I've used myself. However, what they don't tell you is that they make $5 on every lead they send to Efax and up to $14 per lead they send to Callwave - more if anyone signs up for the paid versions of these services.

http://www.callwave.com/affiliates/default.asp
http://home.efax.com/s/r/efax-affiliate