report scams here at dont get scammed Scams and Scammers - Expose hypocrisy and spread respect ! Don't get ripped off! REGISTER  

Go Back   scams > Scam Message Board > Government Scams
Register FAQ Register To Post Member List Promote Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Thread Tools
Old 08-08-2006, 09:44 PM
ParrotSlave ParrotSlave is offline
I am new at
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1

I know about, the free official US web portal, but I had several different "adverse" life events and figured that there HAD to be some kind of government program that could help financially, and I could not find anything on FirstGov. The is a .org, which gives it a mark of legitimacy, and their website seems to offer a lot of information, but you have to pay $12.95 to get it. They warn you "Beware of Websites selling outdated information and old CD's for over $30.00." I did a cursory GoogleSearch for info on them, and did not see anything that would give me a warning, so I paid the $12.95.
It turns out that what you get is a download file that is not a .doc or .pdf, but a .exe. We all know to beware of .exe, so I did not dare open it. Why? They started sending me daily emails with fake links. For example, one letter is about a "Your Grant Funding Notification," with a "CHECK GRANT STATUS LINK" that goes to WHICH THEN RELINKS TO
which is GREAT EXPECTATIONS, a pay dating service.
Another email from them with the subject "US Grants," has a link which says "Meanwhile, please CLICK HERE to view important information on Free Government Grants" which links to".
Similarly, "Your Government Grants" links to Great Expectations again, at
An email with the subject "$25,000 Grant Check," links to their site, which gives you a link to
WHICH RELINKS TO, which offers a "free" grant writing cd for which you have to pay "shipping."
USAGOVERNMENTGRANTS.ORG may very well be a .org, but in my opinion, they are scum. They have proven by their emails that they cannot be trusted, so I have no intention of opening the .exe for which I paid.

Reply With Quote

Old 08-16-2006, 01:21 AM
katiescorner's Avatar
katiescorner katiescorner is offline
Wheres my Spam? Ask your friendly neighborhood moderator.. ME
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,786

There is free information on govt grants at Unfortunately you were probably right in looking at the firstgov site to start with, there just aren't grants that really fit in the catagory that matthew leski promises. No one is going to give you money to just help you get through except for health and welfare. No one is going to give you money to buy a house that you are going to live in, etc. :(

Reply With Quote

Old 08-16-2006, 01:45 AM
borisf96's Avatar
borisf96 borisf96 is offline
Diamond Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,156

.org can be sold to individuals. It does not guarantee legitimacy. I hope you are not getting grant-related phone calls. That is usually next step.

No one is going to give you money to just help you get through except for health and welfare.
I also want to add education to this quote. But nobody will give you money to buy you house. Can you imagine everybody buying houses on government money?

Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump

This site may contain advice, opinions and statements of various information providers. does not represent or endorse the accuracy or reliability of any advice, opinion, statement or other information provided by any information provider, any User of this Site or any other person or entity. Reliance upon any such advice, opinion, statement, or other information shall also be at the Userís own risk. Neither nor its affiliates, nor any of their respective agents, employees, information providers or content providers, shall be liable to any User or anyone else for any inaccuracy, error, omission, interruption, deletion, defect, alteration of or use of any content herein, or for its timeliness or completeness, nor shall they be liable for any failure of performance, computer virus or communication line failure, regardless of cause, or for any damages resulting therefrom. Just because a business, person, or entity is listed on does not necessarily constitute they are scammers. This is a free open forum where people can debate the merits from the consumer's or business owner's perspective. Registration and participation is always FREE.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 AM. Is Proudly Hosted By Rackco and Protected By CloudFlare

Scams Message Board - Copyright 2004-2013 , All Rights Reserved.