report scams here at scam.com dont get scammed Scams and Scammers - Expose hypocrisy and spread respect ! Don't get ripped off! REGISTER  

Go Back   scams > Scam Message Board > Business Scams
Register FAQ Register To Post Member List Promote Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-09-2010, 03:32 PM
I am new at Scam.com

Door to Door BEEF Scam

Dear Friends:

Please read and REPOST this scam alert!!

Just a few minutes ago a middle aged woman came to the door with some boxes of frozen steaks (simlar to what you might get from a Schwan's truck). She said they were "Selling steaks without any of the junk in them". Padraic sad, "You should talk to my wife."

I came downstairs to fnd this woman opening boxes and laying frozen meat out on my counter. She began to tell me these steaks were "grass fed", "hormone free", "antibiotic free" etc. Great, I said 'do you have a brochure or something wth all of this in wrting?'

"Um, no, we're working on that, but do not have it..."

I then ask 'What's the name of your company?' She replied "Better Way Foods"....so I Googled them, there was no website to back up her claims...but she kept talking about the happy grass fed Cows, nursing with their Mothers etc.

I said 'You have no website or brochure how can I verify that what you are telling me is true? What Farm do you get your Meat from?'

Quickly she says "Angus Land Farms" ...I Google that (she is still talking)...Angus Land Farms was in Phoenix, but is no longer there, no new records of them, presuming they are out of business...wondering how old these steaks are!!

As she chatters away about how you can get 2 cases of her mystery meat for the price of one, I take a closer look at the box she is pulling the steak from...it doesn't say Organic, Certified Organic or anything like that, but it does say processed for "The Meat Man Inc, Phoenix AZ".