report scams here at scam.com dont get scammed Scams and Scammers - Expose hypocrisy and spread respect ! Don't get ripped off! REGISTER  

Go Back   scams > Scam Message Board > Internet Scams
Register FAQ Register To Post Member List Promote Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-06-2010, 08:08 PM
I am new at Scam.com

DeVry - another for profit online school scam

It seems that everytime I hear about one of these "for profit" schools offering online education, I hear nothing but complaints.

Google University of Phoenix, ITT, Lincoln-Tech or ******. They all have dozens of consumer complaints. UOP is being investigated by the SEC.

Perhaps this is the reason why the Obama adminstration is looking into the for profit schools.

DeVry has been around based on their ads either 75 years or 78 years. They started off as a tech school and later expanded to offer other programs to increase their student base. DeVry reportedly has 80 or so campuses around the country.

There are many issues with DeVry. One is that when they get your contact information, you will be inundated with phone calls (as many as 8 per day), text messages and pages on your cell phone, email spam and they never let up. The endless contact infuriates consumers and even when told to be put on a do not call list, the calls and contacting continues or is simply passed off to another Admission Counselor (fancy name for a sales person. These online Admissions Conselors are really nothing but glorified telemarketers)

When you get a call from DeVry, you willbe subjected to high pressure sales tactics attempting to pressure you in paying an application fee and enrolling on a "first time close"