report scams here at scam.com dont get scammed Scams and Scammers - Expose hypocrisy and spread respect ! Don't get ripped off! REGISTER
Go Back   scams > Scam Message Board > Investment Scams
Register FAQ Register To Post Member List Promote Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-16-2010, 07:50 AM
I am new at Scam.com

Wes State Lands

I received a postcard about a public oil lottery from this company. I sent in the postcard requesting the information and just received that. It states that public lands will be awarded in public auctions and lottery drawings open to all. You have to purchase these parcels, of course, from 1 parcel at $115, up to 8 parcels for $795. The clincher is probaby that there is not a guarantee that an oil company will want the parcel or parcels that you've purchased. Has anyone tried this and what did you experience?

Old 09-14-2010, 09:38 PM
I am new at Scam.com

Re: Wes State Lands

I just received a post card from the same outfit. In the card they sent me they said "A one-time enrollment, of a couple of hundred dollars or so, is all you need in order to begin acquiring ........"
I bet ya that they also make a commission on the sale of each parcel of land.
Besides wanting to know if this outfit is on the level, I want to know if they tell you the location of the parcel you are bidding on, so you get a satellite view of the land & a surveyor's report on it.
My thing is, I buy a parcel w/the idea of selling it to an oil/gas company, but none of them are interested in it.
What do I do w/it then? What if the land is unsuitable for activities like hunting, fishing, camping, skying, or whatever? What if its on the side of a mountain or in the middle of a swamp/bog?
What if I have the land checked out by geologists & find out that there is no gas/oil to be found on the land?
I want to know what I am buying before I plunk down my $s.