report scams here at scam.com dont get scammed Scams and Scammers - Expose hypocrisy and spread respect ! Don't get ripped off! REGISTER
Go Back   scams > Scam Message Board > Mail Order Scams
Register FAQ Register To Post Member List Promote Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-10-2010, 09:13 PM
I am new at Scam.com

Ubi Payment Services

Received a letter in the mail telling me that I was to receive $5,000.00, all they needed was my signature. I am sure if there was a way some how they could forge my signature. I was aware this was a scam.

Where is this scam coming from???

Old 03-10-2010, 09:26 PM
Most Valued Gold Member

Re: Ubi Payment Services

http://bulletin.aarp.org/yourmoney/s..._t_add_up.html

Quote:
Revealed in the “Official Contest Rules” on the back of the letter: “The winner will be required to send a copy of their passport or identification to the sponsor to confirm their age and identity.” Common sense suggests you should never mail or e-mail passport or driver’s license details, “which can easily be used for identity theft purposes,” says Scott McKee, district attorney of Henderson County, Texas, who is also warning about this scam.
Where is UBI Payments? Good question, because a copy of this letter obtained by Scam Alert was sent from Singapore, but the return envelope goes to a post office box in Australia. UBI already has an “F” rating by the BBB for previously mailing dubious puzzle contest entry letters. It has operated under three dozen other company names, including Global Sweepstakes, Winpac, and Sweepstakes and Prizes, and also has borrowed some legitimate ones, including Allstate Financial Services, AT&T Financial Services and Reader’s Digest.
http://www.scam.com/showthread.php?t=44179

Last edited by mumbles : 03-10-2010 at 09:29 PM.

Old 03-12-2010, 07:02 PM
I am new at Scam.com