report scams here at scam.com dont get scammed Scams and Scammers - Expose hypocrisy and spread respect ! Don't get ripped off! REGISTER  

Go Back   scams > Scam Message Board > Business Scams
Register FAQ Register To Post Member List Promote Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-09-2010, 10:41 AM
I am new at Scam.com

Kenya Orphan Scams

Several of my group memebers and I have become victims of a pastor who calls himself Apostle George Morara in Kenya claiming to be collecting money for orphans when actually he is using the money for his own purposes. About a month ago, I told him I would be donating money to sponsor his orphans when in fact he told me he was using the money for his son's medical treatment.

He then asked me to send him money a few weeks ago because he and his family were thrown out of their house and he was living with friends in Nairobi.

About one week ago, said he needed money for a hotel in Mombasa. He asked for $45.00, which I sent him. He called me the nest day saying he was stranded in Mombasa trying to collect a recent shipment of goods from the UK. He said he needed $115.00. I refused to send him money saying that I was not responsible for him. Then he wanted me to set up an account with his name on it so that he could transfer $100,000 into it. I refused. He wanted me to set up the account at a Barclay's Bank. After I told him I would not do anything illegal, he ended our conversation.

My group has been planning a mission trip with this pastor for June, but I am afraid we will not be getting involved with him. I have received reports that others were dped into sending money to him. He has changed his address twice since we have been dealing with him (since October.)