report scams here at scam.com dont get scammed Scams and Scammers - Expose hypocrisy and spread respect ! Don't get ripped off! REGISTER  

Go Back   scams > Scam Message Board > Internet Scams
Register FAQ Register To Post Member List Promote Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-03-2010, 05:51 AM
I am new at Scam.com

iFreelance - good or bad?

Paid for a subscription to this website ($108.00) yet to land any jobs, it's a bidding process, but after almost a year starting to notice some funny stuff regarding jobs posted and bids, I contacted another person who has been their awhile and they had a lot of interesting stuff to tell, thought this would be a good place to invite other "iFreelancers" to share any of their good or bad experiences. Based on the information I have culled so far, I won't be renewing my subscription when it comes due, and I am real interested in finding out as much as I can about this website (good, bad and ugly) before I finalize that decision...

Old 02-24-2010, 06:13 PM
Newbie Member

Re: iFreelance - good or bad?

Hello,
I have a buyer account there for years, but use it very rarely because I don't feel the site too safe. I mean you are almost alone there when you are trying to make a business with someone. You have to pay outside of the site, there is now escrow, etc.
I just had a very bad experience there recently which changed my view of the whole site.
In short I suspect there are a lots of fake providers/buyers there. They give each others good reviews, then they put low bids on projects and if they win the job, they ask an upfront payment via PayPal and then they disappear or just ignores you.
Especially if you are following their "instructions".
I choosed someone a month ago, because he had only good reviews and his bid ($200) was good for me.
He said he want $75 upfront and he promised me to finish my job in a week.