report scams here at scam.com dont get scammed Scams and Scammers - Expose hypocrisy and spread respect ! Don't get ripped off! REGISTER
Go Back   scams > Scam Message Board > Internet Scams
Register FAQ Register To Post Member List Promote Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-11-2009, 02:13 AM
I am new at Scam.com

Please Help! - Refund from Western Union on scam

Hello,
I was the victim of what I now know is popular scam during flat rentals.

In short, I moved over to London from Canada and was in a hurry to get a flat. I was in contact with a "landlord" who said they needed a proof of payment from me i.e. receipt of a money transer from me to a "best friend" via Western Union. I made the transfer to my girlfriend and sent them a copy of the recipet to show my "proof of funds." By the time I realized what was really going on, the money had already been picked up by the thief.

Western Union gave me no warning about this scam (which, after investigating, I now know has been going on for months) and they essentially gave my money away to someone who was not the intended reciever. Yes, I did show my reciept to someone, but what if I had dropped my reciept? Does that mean anyone can just pick it up, go into a western union, and collect the money? I believe Western Union's security is seriously flawed. I have been getting more outraged as I continue to deal with the Western Union customer service. In short, they don't care - not their problem.

Has anyone had a similar thing happen to them? Anyone been successful in getting any sort of refund from WU?

ANY information to help me in my case against western union would be really appreciated! Thank you for taking the time to read this!

All the best,
Jeff

Old 12-11-2009, 06:51 AM
Silver Member

Re: Please Help! - Refund from Western Union on sc