report scams here at scam.com dont get scammed Scams and Scammers - Expose hypocrisy and spread respect ! Don't get ripped off! REGISTER
Go Back   scams > Scam Message Board > Retail Scams
Register FAQ Register To Post Member List Promote Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-11-2009, 12:04 AM
I am new at Scam.com

Email Order Scam Example, Tips, What to Look For

Hi, I did a search on google to find your reporting site. I thought I would add my recent experience with this. I knew pretty quickly that this was a scam, but many others might not. This is a typical Email from a possible prospective Customer. The Email was titled "Order". I get many emails like this one shown of people wanting to place an order. There are a lot of people just like me, in the very same situation and I know some are falling for this because I have heard stories of the people who have been victimized. The people who have been the victims, in my group of people are and can be categorized as, Handmade, Homemade or just plain Bath and Body Product Makers who sell online. Below are the emails back and forth.
------------------------------------
CLUES that should TIP you OFF that it is a SCAM ... A Scammer is probably involved
#1 They are in a Hurry. Sense of URGENCY, he needs the items shipped immediately to meet some deadline and possible offer to pay extra for quicker service.
#2 Poor syntax, grammar and spelling
#3 Use of all CAPITAL letters, odd spacing between words / sentences, lack of punctuation and run-on sentences, also no capitalization, Example: Doesn’t capitalize “ i ”.
#4 They are not from the US, usually a poor country that no way could afford this kind of purchase, nor could their possible customers.
#5 They dont use your name, like Hello Sally etc. And tend to use the salutation "Regards"
#6 They want to use a Credit Card
#7 They dont know you have a website or where to find it - no idea