report scams here at scam.com dont get scammed Scams and Scammers - Expose hypocrisy and spread respect ! Don't get ripped off! REGISTER
Go Back   scams > Scam Message Board > Internet Scams
Register FAQ Register To Post Member List Promote Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-18-2009, 05:07 PM
I am new at Scam.com

Is SquareTrade warranty a scam ?

Please let me know what is your experience with them.

Waiting for:
Ipod Video 60GB - www.gadgetcity.com
250$ GC -

Old 10-18-2009, 09:30 PM
Always Right, Seldom Agreed With.

Re: Is SquareTrade warranty a scam ?

Avoid anything ST related.

Old 01-09-2011, 09:43 PM
I am new at Scam.com

Hi there! I'm replying here because as a buyer of items for which I'd considered getting ST coverage, myself, I was skeptical about SquareTrade. However, I did some research of my own and found this Better Business Bureau listing for ST:
http://www.bbb.org/greater-san-franc...cisco-ca-35878

Under "Additional company management personnel" you'll see the name "Kord Hamilton" as Customer Experience Manager. He seems to have done a lot of good work for eBayers. Check for his replies here: http://forums.ebay.com/db2/topic/Buy...10986?&start=0

Apparently ST used to rely on warranties through an outside source known only as "VAC" before late 2006, and their service was wretched. Now they've got better service and often seem to come through with warranties, particular when this manager, Kord Hamilton, steps in. I'd have to say they look good in my eyes, and I'll be buying extended warranties with them to see how things go.

HOWEVER! If you're buying something off of eBay, make sure the seller already offers AT LEAST a 60-day warranty already on an electronic item, or else that's just a bad seller to begin with, and ST probably won't help you out if there are problems before the 61st day, when their warranties actually start.

Hope this helped!

Old 01-10-2011, 07:34 AM
I am new at Scam.com

Dear Rafdez,