report scams here at scam.com dont get scammed Scams and Scammers - Expose hypocrisy and spread respect ! Don't get ripped off! REGISTER
Go Back   scams > Scam Message Board > Investment Scams
Register FAQ Register To Post Member List Promote Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-31-2009, 06:00 PM
I am new at Scam.com

www.firststepequity.com, is it a scam?

I found something very interesting today. I don't know how long it's been around, it may be something new as a result of the current mortgage crisis. If you look at www.firststepequity.com, you'll see what I'm talking about. According to the rep I talked to when I called the phone number listed on the website, this company is locking in on houses that are about to foreclose and finding people to take over loan payments. The details are this: You call or log on, pay $40 for full access to all the properties and details, everything is listed including property value, loan amount, and default amount. You let them know the one you want and they contact the current owners, you settle on any personal stipulations they may have, and you take over their loan payments. Their name remains on the loan so there's no need for any credit check nor does it effect your credit. You pay the first monthly payment and the property title is transfered to your name and the loan remains in their name. IS IT BRILLIANT!?!?!?!!!! Or just a scam? I found numerous 1-4 bedroom 700-4000sq' homes in my area worth $3-600,000 with $15,000-$200,000 left on the loan... if it's true, I could potentially have very small monthly payments, own my own home, and the previous owner doesn't have to ruin thier credit by foreclosing. According to the guy I spoke with when I called them, the only way the home could be taken away from me is if I default on a payment. But even then, the loan is not in my name so the burden would be left again with the previous owner.