report scams here at scam.com

Go Back   scams > message board > Internet Scams
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2009, 07:56 PM
Kroozin Kroozin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Kroozin is an unknown quantity at this point
Fake "News" Website - News6Health.com

I checked out this website and read through it and it doesn't pass the "common-sense" factor. First off, there are a number of links on the website that continually attempt to send you off to a specific Acai vendor and colon cleanse vendor. Second, I can't find the last name of the supposed "news" person that reviewed the product. Finally, I can't find any other stories supposedly done by this "news" station. The story line makes it appear that the anchor was chosen because she is getting married soon and then makes claims that the anchor lost almost a pound a day just using the Acai berry and colon cleanse plus all kinds of claims of improved ******, glowing skin, etc, etc.

I must caveat that the disclaimers at the bottom of the website do state that the sites not affiliated with CNN, ABC, CBS, FOX, CNN ... Pretty much every network that's ever existed but my issue is the deceptive packaging of the site makes you think you're actually reading the accounting of an established news station. I would have commented on their site but they've shut it to comments - probably so no one can point out the irregularities directly on their website...

BEWARE!!!



Bookmark and Share
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-19-2009, 08:49 PM
OregonDean OregonDean is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
OregonDean is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Fake "News" Website - News6Health.com

Quite embarrassed to admit that I ordered the "Free Sample", only shipping costs needed to be paid ($0.99). I thought I read all the pages very closely. As others have said, I was to have 30 days to decide if I liked it, and if not, return it. However, within 2 weeks another charge of $89.95 went on my cc. Thanks B of A fraud department for calling me to advise their concern of this charge. If I had waited until my statement came, it would have been too late. Called the 1-800 # and received a refund email that day. I think I am in the clear.
I then went back to the website. After scrolling down past 3-4 very similar "testimonial" sections with an "order free sample now" offers, I noticed at the very bottom in small print that has a font color similar to background (so you can hardly notice the text) I see the real deal. By ordering the free sample I agree to future shipments as stated in the terms and conditions. So I go to the terms and conditions which state that by simply "browsing their page" I agree to all the terms. So I don't have to see them, read them or even know they are there. The terms are very strict about my agreeing to an unending purchase of product with very stern sounding cancellation fees.
I probably will have to cancel my ccard because they still have all my info. What an idiot I am - lesson learned.
TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE? RUN AWAY!



Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-20-2009, 02:26 AM
Silverrain's Avatar
Silverrain Silverrain is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 224
Silverrain is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Fake "News" Website - News6Health.com

Here's another marketing site disguised as a news article, with the crazy T&C waaaaaaaaaaaay down at the bottom. Are faux news sites and fake blogs the next big thing in shady marketing?



__________________
Web of Trust browser plugin for IE and Firefox - Pops up a warning when a risky website is accessed and adds safety indicators to outbound links. Site safety is determined by consensus among WoT users.

SwagBucks - Be rewarded for searching or shopping. Prize received!

Last edited by Silverrain : 11-20-2009 at 02:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-17-2010, 11:21 PM
Alva Alva is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Alva is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Fake "News" Website - News6Health.com

THANKS for your information. I just ordered this stuff - and I rarely order anything over the Internet - and then as soon as I did, thought maybe I was too hasty. When I did a search, I got your posting - and saw what a huge mistake I had made. The customer service number they list has no record of this outfit. I immediately called my credit card company and found the initial charges had already gone through. I was told there was nothing they could do to stop future charges except cancel the card and reissue me one with a new number, which I did. I've always been so careful with my card... can't believe I did something this stupid!!!!!



Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-25-2010, 10:56 AM
legitebiz legitebiz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 201
legitebiz is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Fake "News" Website - News6Health.com

I have seen several of these websites, and I could not help but thinking "these guys are clever".

I mean, the one I came across had all the appearance of a news site, but they really did not hide the fact that they were not, so I think it is really up to the reader to have common sense and at least look at everything that is in the website.

Anyway, once you click on the links you are taken to one of these free trial for 2 bucks websites, where you find a later charge of several hundred $$ after the trial period ends, so whether one of these "fake news" websites or any other website, remember to read the fine print when signing up for a free trial.

If after doing so you still feel the need to sign-up, try to use one of these "single use CC" and cancel on time to avoid any further problems.



Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Scams Message Board - Copyright ? 2004 Scam.com , All Rights Reserved.