report scams here at scam.com

Go Back   scams > message board > Internet Scams
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-04-2009, 08:29 AM
JWWright JWWright is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
JWWright is an unknown quantity at this point
onlinereminder.org ISPRenewal reminder?

My domain is up for renewal.

I got an email from onlinereminder.org, where I could renew it.

They give you a credit card form to fill out, and for only $79 I can renew my domain for a whole year!

Gee, if I renew it through my own host, it's only $9...

I highly doubt they even renew it for $79, they likely bill you and do who knows what with your cc info.

The link they supply goes to www.domainrenewal-online.org, the email claims to be sent from renewal@onlinereminder.org however, any messages sent to that addy fail to go through:

:
81.198.161.170 does not like recipient.
Remote host said: 550 Unknown user
Giving up on 81.198.161.170.

There is no info on google about this organisation when I try to see if anyone else encountered them.

Must be a new scam.

Anyone else hear of them?



Bookmark and Share
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2009, 10:56 AM
nomaxim's Avatar
nomaxim nomaxim is offline
Archæologist
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Stow, Ohio
Posts: 1,724
nomaxim is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: onlinereminder.org ISPRenewal reminder?

The WhoIs info for DomainRenewal-Online.org gives,
Quote:
Domain ID:D144355989-LROR
Domain Name:DOMAINRENEWAL-ONLINE.ORG
Created On:24-Apr-2007 11:02:20 UTC
Last Updated On:01-Oct-2009 13:01:59 UTC
Expiration Date:24-Apr-2010 11:02:20 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:DomainInfo AB (R29-LROR)
Status:CLIENT DELETE PROHIBITED
Status:CLIENT TRANSFER PROHIBITED
Status:CLIENT UPDATE PROHIBITED
Registrant ID:DI-86-GRU
Registrant Name:Pierre Grundstom
Registrant Organization:Domain Renewal SA
Registrant Street1:Berzu 3
Registrant Street2:
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City:Cesis
Registrant State/Province:
Registrant Postal Code:5400
Registrant Country:LV
Registrant Phone:+371.25977574
Registrant Phone Ext.:
Registrant FAX:
Registrant FAX Ext.:
Registrant Email: grundstromsthlm @spray.se (edited, remove space)

Admin ID:DI-85-GRU
Admin Name:Pierre Grund
Admin Organization:Domain Renewal SA
Admin Street1:Suite 9 Ansuya Estate
Admin Street2:Revolution Avenue
Admin Street3:
Admin City:Victoria
Admin State/Province:
Admin Postal Code:000
Admin Country:SC
Admin Phone:+32.28080515
Admin Phone Ext.:
Admin FAX:+32.28080516
Admin FAX Ext.:
Admin Email: domainrenewal @email.com (edited, remove space)
The website is registered to a Pierre Grundstom and gives a address and phone number in Latvia, one of the Baltic countries. The Admin is listed as a Pierre Grund gives a phone number in Belgium, but SC is the country code for the Seychelles. Victoria is also the Capitol of Seychelles Wiki article. They are a group of islands of the east coast of Africa just north of Madagascar.

The WhoIs for OnlineReminder.org gives different contact info in Latvia,
Quote:
Domain ID:D157233993-LROR
Domain Name:ONLINEREMINDER.ORG
Created On:30-Sep-2009 21:51:15 UTC
Expiration Date:30-Sep-2010 21:51:15 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:Regtime Ltd. (R1602-LROR)
Status:TRANSFER PROHIBITED
Status:ADDPERIOD
Registrant ID:CO570046-RT
Registrant Name:MARIS VILUMSONS
Registrant Organization:Private person
Registrant Street1:Maskavas 55
Registrant Street2:
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City:Riga
Registrant State/Province:Riga
Registrant Postal Code:LV1003
Registrant Country:LV
Registrant Phone:+371.25977574
Registrant Phone Ext.:
Registrant FAX:
Registrant FAX Ext.:
Registrant Email: ivihosting @inbox.lv (edited, remove spaces)
The 3 e-mail addy's listed above in the 2 WhoIs's all appear to be free e-mail accounts.
http://email.com/
http://www.spray.se/
http://inbox.lv/

Also, noticed this from their Homepage,
Quote:
We interact with your Internet Service Provider/ ISP to renew your domain name. In cases your ISP requires your login information we will contact you by mail and you will have to provide us with login information so we can preform a renewal. Note! No other changes on your account will be made.
They don't seem to know the difference between a ISP (Internet Service Provider), Domain Registrar, and a Hosting Service.



__________________

Been scammed?
Report it to - IC3.GOV

The very existence of flame-throwers proves that some time, somewhere, someone said to themselves, You know, I want to set those people over there on fire, but I'm just not close enough to get the job done.
-George Carlin

Last edited by nomaxim : 10-04-2009 at 11:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-05-2009, 01:26 AM
RBudd RBudd is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
RBudd is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: onlinereminder.org ISPRenewal reminder?

Hi ,

I received such an e-mail also .
What you failed to mention is that they want you to send in your login information .
Might as well say good-bye to your domain name(s)
I will let my registrar be aware
of this scam ... clever one , because I've
had domain names for 10 years and first time I see this one tried on me .

Thank you ,
RBudd



Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 AM.


Scams Message Board - Copyright ? 2004 Scam.com , All Rights Reserved.