report scams here at scam.com

Go Back   scams > message board > Internet Scams
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-27-2008, 11:12 AM
qwerty123 qwerty123 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
qwerty123 is an unknown quantity at this point
Opal Office Scam

I purchased a program called Opal Office and all I got was the FREE OpenOffice.org 2.3.1. The website is called OfficeBestDeal.com. Don't be fooled like me. I know OpenOffice and like using it, but I'm used to the controls of MS Office, so this site says it's exactly like MS Office. Boy was I wrong. It's the exact same thing that I already had on my computer (OpenOffice.org 2.3.1). Don't get scammed into buying this software for $11.95. You can download it for free from openoffice.org. Additionally, if you got scammed and you need to contact them for any reason...the email address to the person in charge is office@officebestdeal.com . Tell them how you got ripped off and tell them to give your money back.



Bookmark and Share
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2009, 05:22 AM
libra16 libra16 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
libra16 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Opal Office Scam

I purchased and downloaded Opal Office last evening and then after downloading i saw the title OpenOffice.3. I already had it on my computer. I believe it was one of the programs already loaded on my Dell. I thought something was strange and then I googled Opal Office and your post came up. Thanks. I am going to request a full refund and report their site to my IP.



Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-05-2009, 12:12 AM
riffchick riffchick is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
riffchick is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Opal Office Scam

Darn!

This was brought to my attention after I had purchased it.

I have sent an email asking for a refund.

Thanks for the tip!



Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-05-2009, 04:23 AM
cneilson cneilson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 86
cneilson is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Opal Office Scam

You might also want to contact the makers of Open Office at www.openoffice.org (I believe that is the correct link). I'm not sure what their license entails exactly, but selling their product under another name may well be illegal. Wouldn't hurt to ask Sun about the practice just in case.

Colin



Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-08-2009, 04:22 AM
theologian theologian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
theologian is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Opal Office Scam

I've just received this:

Hi,
I didn't know anything about your open office software but one day I bought a software called OpalOffice. I purchased it on [web site] and when I download it wasn't Opal Office it was OpenOffice. There is nothing software called Opaloffice existed they are selling your software by making it sound it is some thing else. Incase if you don't know about it I felt to drop you this note.

If you want you can call me [telephone number]

[name of purported sender]

A scam on a scam?



Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-08-2009, 02:24 PM
jaloola jaloola is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
jaloola is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Opal Office Scam

Hi, theologian,

That's not a scam. That was sent to everyone on the OpenOffice Security list by someone who cared about the problem and wanted to drop a email to the OO Developers...

You're probably subscribed to the OO Security List... Notice that the message was sent to security-alerts@openoffice.org.

This scam was probably used to trick non-IT/Devlopers/etc.

Thanks,

jaloola



Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-11-2009, 05:14 AM
libra16 libra16 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
libra16 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Opal Office Scam

Hi, I E-mailed OpalOffice and they E-mailed me back a link to OpenOffice website that shows they issue licenses to have their software distributed from vendors such as OpalOffice because they allow these vendors to alter the software somewhat and that is why it can be called by another name. Who knows what is going on.



Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-11-2009, 05:19 AM
libra16 libra16 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
libra16 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Opal Office Scam

Did you get your money back? When I contacted them they directed me to OpenOffice website showing that they are legally licensed to sell the product. That OpenOffice allows other vendors who slightly alter the product to market it under another name? I contacted OpenOffice and they never replied. I guess they are getting so many E-mails that they cannot reply to everyone and they really are not responsible in any way if scoundrels are scamming people by utilizing their software.
they can file charges against them though for unauthorized use of their product.



Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-25-2009, 07:31 PM
beddows beddows is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
beddows is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Opal Office Scam

Looks like I just got taken as well. I even had an email conversation with someone called Russ before I paid for it.

Hello Paul,

Yes, our software has the same functionality as Microsoft Access. You will hardly notice the difference. We are offering 100% money back guarantee, so you have nothing to lose, please give it a try.

Kind Regards,

Russ.
www.OfficeBestDeal.com




I have requested a refund but from the sounds of it that is not too promising.

The registrar for their domain name is abuse@1and1.com. If enough people start complaining to them that one of the names they registered is being used for a scam they will likely disable it. they will probably reappear, but at least it causes them at least $11.95 worth of hassle. If I don't get a refund in the next 2 days I will be sending off an email myself.

Also through my paypal account there is means to open up a dispute. If anyone else ripped off used paypal, they shoudl do this. That may result in their paypal account being shut down, especially if there is more than one complaint.




Last edited by beddows : 05-25-2009 at 07:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Scams Message Board - Copyright ? 2004 Scam.com , All Rights Reserved.