report scams here at scam.com dont get scammed Scams and Scammers - Expose hypocrisy and spread respect ! Don't get ripped off! REGISTER  

Go Back   scams > Scam Message Board > Nigerian Scams
Register FAQ Register To Post Member List Promote Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-16-2004, 12:04 PM
I am new at Scam.com

watchout for this scam!!!!!

This is a new kind of scam going around

Recently a girl called me up to tell me I have been selected to receive some goverment fund of 10K freely, which I suspect is a scam. I asked her I didnt apply for any goverment grant. she replied you need not apply, the federal government takes a lottery out of all the tax payers names & chose you to receive this free fund. (woooo Jesus...i been in US just 3 months & when did i get into the taxpayers list???!!!) I pretended I got excited but at the back of my head I was thinking, how much is your 'processing fees & stuff'. To my expectation, she forwarded my call to another guy.(aaaha!! 1st sign this is a scam....) he explained the same basic rules ..will be put it in my checking account blah blah...but u need to make payment of 245$ by some date. (there goes the 2nd sign its a major scam). I asked why dont u take urself from the grant fund & gimme the rest..he replied no we cant do that...we are just outsouced to send the funds to you. (at this point another striking thing struck me... its pretty clear that the girl & the guy are calling from indian call center ..how do i know that? well I m from india too, by their accent i can sense that, but i kept on asking if they are calling from India, but they kept on replying they were calling from Florida)...(no city, but just Florida)...another silly mistake...cos my girlfriend (who works in call center) told me that the call centers in india are not supposed to reveal their original location as india.& most importantly all the federal outsourcings to Indian companies have been cut, if I am right.